Is This What Psychosis Feels Like?

A nagging thought has been bothering me for a few days now. Believe it or not, it’s nothing that I find quite serious, although I think it’s weird. I can’t fully explain it, but I’ll try to describe it: imagine sipping on your favorite fruit shake while simultaneously thinking about poisoning it. Or how about, imagine holding a very sharp knife and having the urge of stabbing yourself. I don’t know, I’m not alarmed or anything, but it’s unnerving to constantly think about dying/killing yourself while looking through a manuscript and checking for errors (yep, I work as a copyeditor). Should I go ahead and see a shrink?

About misspee

Sometimes I'm wrong. Sometimes, I write. View all posts by misspee

4 responses to “Is This What Psychosis Feels Like?

  • CombinedChaos

    Psychosis has a lot of different elements to it, I mean, it’s possible but I suppose it’s kind of different for everyone- I know I’ve had urges/feelings that are similar- which will account for half of my bad hair cuts- but I think it’s a lot more in depth than that. Hope this helps in any way, but if you feel as though you need to see someone, there’s nothing stopping you

    • misspee

      Thanks, it’s nice to know that someone somehow gets how I’m feeling. I tried sharing this experience with my friends, including the weird (and morbid) dreams I’ve been having lately, and all they said was that I should stop watching too much Supernatural. I hope they’re right and that this is just a “subconscious issue” easily remedied.

  • Opinionated Man

    Can be normal I think. It really all depends on how well you know yourself right? 🙂

Leave a comment