Riddle Me Baby

I always liked riddles. But it wasn’t until reading “The Hobbit” many years back that I considered composing my own. That little scene where Bilbo and Gollum battled it out through riddles really got to me. I even used some of the riddles towards my friends (no one was ever able to answer any of it, they even thought that I was very clever to have come up with those riddles).

Anyway, I would like to share these riddles that I made back when I was fifteen (I’m in my early twenties now). They’re really very simple, as I made them when I was young and knew less about writing and whatnot. Care to try to answer them?

“Soft and shapeless I begin,

but if you expose me to earth, fire and wind

up, up, high I rise

hard on the outside, soft on the inside.”

Answer: ________________

“This bag I weave becomes my home,

on which I take shelter from the storm

rain or shine, to toughen my bone

and then I fully blossom.”

Answer: ________________

“Though little and tiny I may seem,

Thou must not let me touch thy skin

For once I pierce you, you will dread

For I can make you seem like dead.”

Answer: ________________

“When noticed I drift slower,

Ignore me and I go faster

From the end of all that and beginning of all things

It is I who can tell what your future brings.”

Answer: _________________

“Which is this that the earth fears?

When it’s too much, it dries all tears

Arirves one way, disappears the other

And when it’s gone, it kills all laughter.”

Answer: _________________

If ever you would want to use these for yourselves, then by all means, go right ahead. But please, don’t forget to cite me or my blogsite.

About misspee

Sometimes I'm wrong. Sometimes, I write. View all posts by misspee

Leave a Reply

