Storm

I couldn’t sleep. All night, lying on the bed with eyes tightly closed. Preventing even the tiniest slivers of light to enter my lids.

I couldn’t sleep. The wind was making such a terrible noise, rattling the windows like a desperate toddler trying to get out of his crib.

I couldn’t sleep. With every beat  and every howl, my heart pumped with a familiar rhythm in a different tune. One that I recognized but would never welcome.

I couldn’t sleep. Not a wink. When counting sheep turns into counting precious seconds before a piece of torn roof slams into your windows, and breaks it into a million shards. Or counting how long it would take for a sturdy ceiling to fall and crush you beneath its mighty weight.

No, I couldn’t sleep last night. Not when I was crippled with the intense fear of losing my life. 

About misspee

Sometimes I'm wrong. Sometimes, I write. View all posts by misspee

Leave a Reply

