Maps

I see a canvass about to be filled
with geographies of the stars, of the sea,
of the body, with ink of my choosing.
All I have to do is to pick
the colors and start the strokes. To draw
what I should. But what should it be?

A map of stars, perhaps? It would be easy
to trace the outline of the great bear, a guide
to lead me to heaven. Or of the sea?
Laden with a trail of secret channels
and straits to get me around
the world. Or maybe, a map of the body?
So I may point with just a finger,
those places that hurt.

But of what importance is a map?
When all I need is an arrow
to point me to my destination?

 

-misspee

About misspee

Sometimes I'm wrong. Sometimes, I write. View all posts by misspee

Leave a Reply

